top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoseph Rush

Cardwell Picks Up First Win of 2023 at New Smoky Mountain Speedway

The 5th Annual Mayhem in the Mountains was set on a perfect Saturday at the picture perfect Smoky Mountain Speedway! Twenty-nine of America's Best Pro Late Models signed in for competition with the AAS.

BHR Qualifications would be up first. with Bradley Lewelling picking up the fast time award turning a time of 14.902. Philip Thompson was just off his time turning a time of 14.912 and Hayden Cardwell went third at a 14.981. Josh Dietz took the fourth fastest time at a 14.95 and Trevor Sise turned a great lap at a 15.074.

The Race Track Connection Dash was up next with Bradley Lewelling taking the win over Philip Thompson and Hayden Cardwell. Dirt2Media Heat 1 would see the win go to William Blankenship over Brandon Williams and Taylor Puckett. Outside Groove Heat 2 would go to Trey Bayne over Colby Quick and Jesse Lowe who moved up from his seventh place starting spot. FMS Rapid Graphix Heat 3 would go to Anthony White Jr. over Ronnie Johnson and Brandon Miller. The ATC Bolts and Fasteners BMain would be won by Logan Palmer over Jason Cardwell and Seth Wimpey.

The 5th Annual Mayhem in the Mountains field was set and ready for racing. Bradley Lewelling would jump out to an early commanding lead over Philip Thompson and Hayden Cardwell. Cardwell would work his way into second. Lewelling would lead the first 20 laps and caught lapped traffic around lap 15. Lewelling was working to pass the lapped traffic on the bottom and Cardwell saw an opportunity on the top and took it to make the pass for the lead. The lapped car Lewelling was trying to pass called it a night and Philip Thompson worked beside Lewelling in the exchange. Cardwell would take the lead the rest of the way to win his first race of the season after making the switch to American Racers. Philip Thompson would work by Lewelling on a late restart to finish second with Lewelling holding on to finish third. Josh Dietz would take the fourth place finish with the legend Ronnie Johson bringing his hotrod home fifth! William Blankenship had a strong sixth place run with Anthony White Jr. finishing seventh. Jesse Lowe, Trey Bayne, and Tyler Price would round out the top ten.

The AAS would like to thank Roger Sellars, Casey Moses, and the whole Smoky Mountain Crew for being great hosts! We'd also like to thank all the fans and teams for their support this weekend!

We'd also like to thank all the partners who make it possible: Dirt2Media, PPM Racing Products, Rick Hendrick City Chevrolet, Chevrolet Performance: Vehicles, Parts, Racing, Pro Fabrication "Official Header of the AAS," Mahle, Super Clean "Official Cleaner of the AAS," Outside Groove, FMS Rapid Graphix, Race Track Connection, Beckley Motor Speedway, O'Reilly Auto Parts "Official Auto Parts Store of the AAS," Smash-It by BWR, American Racer, Wieland "Official Aluminum of the AAS," BHR Fabrication and Double Nickle Race Cars, Fast Lane Fabrication, Warrior Race Cars, WV Fireworks Outlet, TNT Race Cars, KRC Power Steering, Peeping Dragon Photography, Terror Race Cars, ATC Bolts and Fasteners, PopBit, MD3, Hyperco, Burgess Consulting, ML Performance Midwest, Massey Powersports, and Fast Fab.

bottom of page