top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoseph Rush

Colton Leyendecker Picks Up First Career AAS Victory in First Start

The AAS traveled to the state of Alabama for it's first ever series race Saturday night. The beautifully located and set Buckshot Speedway was the home of the event where seventeen of America's Best Pro Late Models signed in for the series bonus race.

Leyendecker was fast from the start picking up the fast time in BHR Fabrication Qualifying with a time of 14.579. Cruz Skinner went second fastest with a time of 14.661. Bill Mahan went third quick with a 14.738 and just off his time was series points leader Josh Dietz at a 14.744. Jesse Lowe, second in points, would go fifth fastest at a 14.773.

Cruz Skinner would pick up the win in the Race Track Connection Dash over Leyendecker and Dietz. Dirt2Media Heat One went to Kendall Franklin over Seth McCormack and Steven Jernigan. Outside Groove Heat Two was won by Sylvan Schuette over Logan Styke and Willie McElhiney.

The forty lap feature was set and cautions set the way for the early part of the night. Then a long green flag run would bring us to checkers. Colton Leyendecker crossed the line second, but was award the victory after the winner was light at the scales. Josh Dietz would finish second with Jesse Lowe taking third. The Hyperco Hard Charger Grayson Brewer would finish fourth with track points leader Kyle Smith taking fifth. Seth McCormack took sixth with Willie McElhiney taking seventh. Steve Jernigan brought his ride home eight with Landon McElroy and Austin Franklin rounding out the top ten.

The AAS would like to thank Buckshot Speedway, all the fans, drivers and teams for their support of this event!

We'd also like to thank all the partners who make it possible: Dirt2Media, PPM Racing Products, Rick Hendrick City Chevrolet, Chevrolet Performance: Vehicles, Parts, Racing, Pro Fabrication "Official Header of the AAS," Mahle, Super Clean "Official Cleaner of the AAS," Outside Groove, FMS Rapid Graphix, Race Track Connection, Beckley Motor Speedway, O'Reilly Auto Parts "Official Auto Parts Store of the AAS," Smash-It by BWR, American Racer, Wieland "Official Aluminum of the AAS," BHR Fabrication and Double Nickle Race Cars, Fast Lane Fabrication, Warrior Race Cars, WV Fireworks Outlet, TNT Race Cars, KRC Power Steering, Peeping Dragon Photography, Terror Race Cars, ATC Bolts and Fasteners, PopBit, MD3, Hyperco, Burgess Consulting, ML Performance Midwest, Massey Powersports, Pro-Built Motorsports and Fast Fab.

bottom of page