top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoseph Rush

Hedgecock Picks Up Highest Paying Career Win in 13th Annual UBB Miners Memorial

The AAS made history this past weekend with it's first ever $20,000 to win race! The 13th Annual UBB Miners Memorial turned into a four day event after rain washed us out on Saturday evening. Forty-four of America's Best Pro Late Models were in the house for action.

BHR Fabrication saw Logan Roberson goo the quickest in group A and the quickest overall with a time of 14.361. Zack Dohm was second quick at a 14.412 and Cory Hedgecock went third quick in group A with a time of 14.429. Group B saw Benji Hicks go fastest with a 14.590. Second in group B was Jeremy Steele with a time of 14.594 and Jesse Lowe would be third quickest at a 14.629.

The Race Track Connection Dash would be won by Benji Hicks over Cory Hedgecock and Logan Roberson. Dirt2Media Heat 1 would go to Brandon Williams over Dillon Brown and Henry Hornsby III. Outside Groove Heat 2 was won by Ross Bailes over Zach Sise and Philip Thompson. FMS Rapid Graphix Heat 3 would go to Josh Dietz over Chip Brindle and Stephen Pedulla. PPM Racing Products Heat 4 would go to Seth Wimpey over Kyle Lukon and Sylvan Schuette.

There were two ATC Bolts and Fasteners B-Mains in the first one Brent Trimble would dominate with Fast Freddie Carpenter also transferring in second. The second ATC Bols and Fasteners B-Main was won by AJ Hicks over Rick Williams. The two series provisionals were awarded to Trevor Sise and Baillie Lowe while the weekly points provisional went to Logan Walls and Shane Greco got the UBB Miners Memorial Promoters Pick.

With the feature field set the drivers were ready to compete for 100 laps and $20,000. The race began with Benji Hicks out front and Cory Hedgecock quickly to second hot on Hicks heels. Two different distinct lines were being run by the competitors, both very even. Several early cautions would fly and Hedgecock would take command of the race after Hicks would have a flat on lap thirteen. Racers calmed down around lap twenty-five and got to the halfway break at 50. Two drivers: Brandon Williams and Philip Thompson opted to go pit side for fresh rubber. On the restart Hedgecock was once again fast. A few more cautions would be spread through the event, but Hedgecock always remained calm and in front. From around lap 80-90 Zack Dohm did close on Hedgecock, but then the difference stabilized out. With two to go as Hedgecock was lapping Benji Hicks, devastation almost occurred for Hedgecock as the two nearly came together, but both stayed straight. Hedgecock would go on to pick up the $20,000 and the biggest win of his career. Zack Dohm would bring it home second over Logan Roberson. Josh Dietz had a nother great points night finishing fourth with Jesse Lowe finishing fifth and jumping to second in the points. Chip Brindle who is always strong brought it home sixth with Jeremy Steele taking seventh. Dillon Brown, Henry Hornsby III, and Stepehen Pedulla would round out the top ten.

The AAS would like to thank Randy, the fans of Beckley, and everyone who helped make this show possible at BMS!

We'd also like to thank all the partners who make it possible: Dirt2Media, PPM Racing Products, Rick Hendrick City Chevrolet, Chevrolet Performance: Vehicles, Parts, Racing, Pro Fabrication "Official Header of the AAS," Mahle, Super Clean "Official Cleaner of the AAS," Outside Groove, FMS Rapid Graphix, Race Track Connection, Beckley Motor Speedway, O'Reilly Auto Parts "Official Auto Parts Store of the AAS," Smash-It by BWR, American Racer, Wieland "Official Aluminum of the AAS," BHR Fabrication and Double Nickle Race Cars, Fast Lane Fabrication, Warrior Race Cars, WV Fireworks Outlet, TNT Race Cars, KRC Power Steering, Peeping Dragon Photography, Terror Race Cars, ATC Bolts and Fasteners, PopBit, MD3, Hyperco, Burgess Consulting, ML Performance Midwest, Massey Powersports, and Fast Fab.

bottom of page