top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoseph Rush

Logan Walls Dominates On His Way to First Career AAS Victory

The AAS made the trip to Rockcastle Speedway on a Sunday after a rain delay pushed the event back. This was the series first trip to the beautiful location nestled in the KY mountains. Thirty-four of America's Best Pro Late Models signed in for competition. With a thirty-four car field BHR Fabrication Qualifications was broken down into two groups. Jesse Lowe would take the fast time in Group A with a time of 16.024. Brian Smith would go second fastest at a 16.170 while Daniel Dial would be the final car to make the dash from Group A with a time of 16.490. It took all the way to the final car in Group B for the fastest time overall as Logan Walls turned a smoking fast time of 15.738. Josh Dietz would go second fastest in the group with a time of 15.766 while Jordan Hedger turned the third fastest time at a 15.821.

Logan Walls kept the loud pedal down winning the Race Track Connection Dash leading all six laps with Jesse Lowe in hot pursuit in second and Josh Dietz bringing the #9 home in third. Steve Stollings looked impressive in Dirt2Media Heat One picking up the victory over Trevor Sise and Shane Irvin who went from the back to take the last transfer spot in the heat race. Outside Groove Heat 2 went to Glen Hounshell over Jimmy Smith and Tommy Carlton. The always tough Skylar Marlar took FMS Rapid Graphix Heat Three over AJ Hicks and Collin Watson. PPM Racing Products Heat Four went to local competitor Jeff Watson over Jason Barrett and Dustin Linville. ATC Bolts & Fasteners BMain 1 was won by Matthew Norman over Sylvan Schuette while ATC Bolts & Fasteners BMain 2 went to Jason Wheatley over Zach Sise who made the last lap pass to transfer in. The provisionals went to William Blankenship and Duke Lowe while the track opted to start a twenty-fifth car for their local points which was Calvin Carlton.

The field was set and Logan Walls was set to roll off from the pole for the forty-lap feature event paying $5,000 to win! Logan jumped to the early lead with Jesse Lowe and Josh Dietz in hot pursuit. The first caution came out for a single car spin. Then a multi-car pile up on the ensuing restart ended the night for a couple competitors. Green flag racing resumed with Walls leading and Lowe chasing. Another caution fell for a single car incident. At this point Dietz had a tire going down, but he did maintain car control and kept rolling in line, chasing the points. After the event he explained it had been going down since lap ten, but when he fired off it seemed to get some air back in it. Another caution followed at which point Dietz went in to change his tire. He would rejoin the field to continue chasing points as hit biggest challenger in points Jesse Lowe held on to the second position. Logan Walls would go on to dominate and grab his first career series victory after a year and a half of trying he went from bring the slowest car in qualifying on his first night ever with the series to grabbing his first ever victory in a big way with $5,000 in his pocket! Jesse Lowe would not only grab the second, but also the points lead and put on the yellow PPM Racing Products spoiler while Brian Smith picked up his best career series finish of third. Skylar Marlar would take fourth while Rick Hendrick City Chevrolet Weekly Points Leader, AJ Hicks, would bring the #64 home fifth. Trevor Sise had a quiet, but good night finishing sixth with Dustin Linville taking seventh. Zach Sise, Shane Irvin, and Josh Dietz would round out the top ten.

The AAS would like to thank the Dwayne and Kevin, Rockcastle Speedway, all the drivers and teams, and fans who supported the event! We'd also like to thank all the partners who make it possible: Dirt2Media, PPM Racing Products, Rick Hendrick City Chevrolet, Chevrolet Performance: Vehicles, Parts, Racing, Pro Fabrication "Official Header of the AAS," Mahle, Super Clean "Official Cleaner of the AAS," Outside Groove, FMS Rapid Graphix, Race Track Connection, Beckley Motor Speedway, O'Reilly Auto Parts "Official Auto Parts Store of the AAS," Smash-It by BWR, American Racer, Wieland "Official Aluminum of the AAS," BHR Fabrication and Double Nickle Race Cars, Fast Lane Fabrication, Warrior Race Cars, WV Fireworks Outlet, TNT Race Cars, KRC Power Steering, Peeping Dragon Photography, Terror Race Cars, ATC Bolts and Fasteners, PopBit, MD3, Hyperco, Burgess Consulting, ML Performance Midwest, Massey Powersports, Pro-Built Motorsports, East TN Racers Recoveryand Fast Fab.

bottom of page