top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoseph Rush

Steele Gets It Done At The Gap!

Twenty-seven cars signed in to battle it out for $5,000 in The Bucking Bull 50 at The Gap! The very best in the southeast were on hand to battle it out for the big prize money with five states from the region represented.

BHR Fabrication Qualifying saw Jeremy Steele roll off fast setting a time of 13.225. Bradley Lewelling rolled with the second fastest lap at his home track turning a time of 13.377 and another home track driver, Tim Maupin, showed he means business taking the third quickest time at a 13.379. Zach Sise, went fourth fastest, at a 13.469 while Jesse Lowe would round out the top five at 13.474. The whole qualifying field was tight with everyones' times right together.

The Race Track Connection Dash would see Jeremy Steele hold a pretty wheel and take the win with Bradley Lewelling second and Zach Sise moving up to take the third spot. Dirt2Media Heat One was an exciting one with a lot of great passing and moves taking place behind pole sitter Dillon Brown who would win. Baily Cardwell moved up four spots from where he started to finish second and Trey Bayne who started dead last moved up to third to transfer into the feature while Skylar Marlar would take the final transfer spot. Outside Groove Heat Two would be won by 2022 Champion Hayden Cardwell over Benji Hicks, Sylvan Schuette, and Steve Stollings. FMS Rapid Graphix Heat Three was won by youngster Jack Brown over Josh Dietz, Philip Thompson, and Baillie Lowe. The ATC B-Main Bolt Bandit for the night was Jordan Hedger over Michael Smith, Tyler Smith, and Jack Orr Jr and Ryan Smith would also transfer. Duke Lowe would take the loan provisional for the night to set the twenty-four car field.

The feature field was set and it was going to be a barn burner as we were racing the weather that was moving in. On lap one in turns one and two several competitors were collected in an incident including Ryan Smith, Tyler Smith, Duke Lowe, and Philip Thompson. This ended Philip Thompson's night early. A tough run for the AAS regular. Then a long green flag run ensued which made for some great racing. Steele jumped out to the lead with Lewelling hot in pursuit. As they began working lapped traffic Steele continued holding a pretty wheel, but Lewelling was getting beside him as the top six were all under a blanket battling and working through lapped traffic. As the action was heating up Sylvan Schuette slowed in his #14 with a flat tire. This AAS regular has had the worst luck of any competitor on the tour this season, and that's when disaster struck for second place running Bradley Lewelling who also had a flat. Both went pit side and changed their tires and rejoined the field. The green flag flew with Steele out front and Maupin hot in pursuit. Steele pulled away some while Dillon Brown worked his way to Maupin where the two put on a heck of a show. Throwing slide jobs back and fourth jockeying for position. They closed a little on Steele at one point, but when the got close he put the pedal down and pulled back away. Rain started falling lightly with ten to go, but it wasn't enough to stop the event at Steele went on to wheel his #22 to his first career AAS win! Dillon Brown held Maupin off at the end to take second with Brown taking third. Jesse Lowe took fourth with the drop race figured in that will tie him for the points lead with Josh Dietz with Hayden Cardwell taking fifth. Brothers Zach Sise and Trevor Sise would bring their team cars home in sixth and seventh. Benji Hicks, Trey Bayne, and Jack Brown would round out the top five.

The AAS would like to thank the Proffitt Family, Volunteer Speedway, all the drivers, teams, and fans who supported the event! We'd also like to thank all the partners who make it possible: Dirt2Media, PPM Racing Products, Rick Hendrick City Chevrolet, Chevrolet Performance: Vehicles, Parts, Racing, Pro Fabrication "Official Header of the AAS," Mahle, Super Clean "Official Cleaner of the AAS," Outside Groove, FMS Rapid Graphix, Race Track Connection, Beckley Motor Speedway, O'Reilly Auto Parts "Official Auto Parts Store of the AAS," Smash-It by BWR, American Racer, Wieland "Official Aluminum of the AAS," BHR Fabrication and Double Nickle Race Cars, Fast Lane Fabrication, Warrior Race Cars, WV Fireworks Outlet, TNT Race Cars, KRC Power Steering, Peeping Dragon Photography, Terror Race Cars, ATC Bolts and Fasteners, PopBit, MD3, Hyperco, Burgess Consulting, ML Performance Midwest, Massey Powersports, Pro-Built Motorsports, East TN Racers Recoveryand Fast Fab.

bottom of page