top of page
  • Writer's pictureJoseph Rush

Zach Sise Borrows Car Then Battles With Steve Peeden to Closest Finish in AAS History

Twenty-nine of America's Best Pro Late Models rolled into AAS action at Lake Cumberland Speedway for the Hall of Fame Night. There was an excitement in the air as it was the biggest event in the track's history with almost seventy-five thousand dollars in prize monies being paid out between all classes.

Zach Sise would go out in BHR Fabrication Qualifications in his father-in-law Jason's car and Raymond Shepard's engine and set the fast time right off the bat with a time of 13.946. Right on his heels was Indiana drive Steve Peeden who turned a time of 13.971. Logan Walls, who calls LCS one of his home tracks, turned a time of 13.990. Jordan Hedger proved he's back making the dash again turning a time of 14.134 and local competitor Jeremy Strunk went fifth quick at a 14.179.

The Race Track Connection Dash would be won by Zach Sise in his borrowed #07 ride over Jordan Hedger and Steve Peeden. Dirt2Media Heat One would be won by Trevor Sise over Philip Thompson and weekend warrior Roman Wesley. Outside Groove Heat Two would go to Josh Dietz over Ace Claborn and Baillie Lowe. FMS Rapid Graphix Heat Three would be won by our weekend warrior Jordan Wesley over Jason Wheatley and Jeff Watson. The ATC B-Main Bolt Bandit for the night would Daniel Dial who took the win over Tyler McGowan and Calvin Carlton. Provisionals for the night went to Bradley Strong and Duke Lowe.

With the field set, it was time for a bad fast thirty lap feature event. On lap one Jordan Wesley would break giving him the PopBit Hard Luck Award. This caused a couple cars to spin, but no harm no foul and everyone else was able to continue. A long green flag run came next as Zach Sise would begin battling through lapped traffic. The next caution fell at the halfway point and this is where things started to get interesting. Sise jumped back to the lead, but Peeden was ready to make it a race and the battle began. He got to second on lap nineteen and started the pursuit. Lap twenty three he turned an amazing lap time at a 14.846 and then went into one and two and took the lead until Sise came back by him in three and four. A couple times Peeden would inch a head, but never took the lead at the line. A caution on lap twenty-eight set up a green, white, checkered which gave Peeden another chance to set Sise up. The duo battled side by side and coming off four Peeden got a run on the bottom and was right beside Sise. At the line Sise would win by .057 over Steve Peeden. Skylar Marlar who fought issues early in the night battled his way from his eighteenth starting spot to finish third and take the Hyperco Hard Charger Award. Jordan Hedger would bring the #94 home fourth with Philip Thompson taking fifth. Trevor Sise would wind up sixth and Jesse Lowe also fought from deep in the field to finish seventh. Roman Wesley, Logan Walls, and William Blankenship would round out the top ten.

The AAS would like to thank Brandon and Jessica at Lake Cumberland for always being great hosts for the series. We'd also like to thank all the drivers, teams, fans and LCS staff for their support of this event.

We'd also like to thank all the partners who make it possible: Dirt2Media, PPM Racing Products, Rick Hendrick City Chevrolet, Chevrolet Performance: Vehicles, Parts, Racing, Pro Fabrication "Official Header of the AAS," Mahle, Super Clean "Official Cleaner of the AAS," Outside Groove, FMS Rapid Graphix, Race Track Connection, Beckley Motor Speedway, O'Reilly Auto Parts "Official Auto Parts Store of the AAS," Smash-It by BWR, American Racer, Wieland "Official Aluminum of the AAS," BHR Fabrication and Double Nickle Race Cars, Fast Lane Fabrication, Warrior Race Cars, WV Fireworks Outlet, TNT Race Cars, KRC Power Steering, Peeping Dragon Photography, Terror Race Cars, ATC Bolts and Fasteners, PopBit, MD3, Hyperco, Burgess Consulting, ML Performance Midwest, Massey Powersports, Pro-Built Motorsports and Fast Fab.

bottom of page