American All-Star Series

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4





Hayden Cardwell Bags $5,000 at Lake Cumberland With Pass in Traffic


American All-Star Series

Hayden Cardwell Bags $5,000 at Lake Cumberland With Pass in Traffic

The second race of the 2024 AAS season saw twenty-nine of America's Best Pro Late Models on the grounds at Lake Cumberland Speedway. It was the season opening Spring Fling for Lake Cumberland as the All-Stars took to the track to battle it out for the $5,000 prize. As always Brandon Hardgrove and his team had the track in excellent shape.

Baillie Lowe would impress in My Race Pass Hot Laps topping the field with a time of 13.797. Skylar Marlar was just behind him turning a 13.815 while Hayden Cardwell went third with a 13.848. Jordan Hedger would turn a 13.881 taking the fourth best time with Steve Stolling would go fifth quick at a 13.889.

BHR Fabrication saw Skylar Marlar pick up the quick time with a 13.824 while only getting on lap due to a deck height infraction. Hayden Cardwell turned the second best time a 13.851 and Roman Wesley, the Weekend Warrior, turned a time of 13.936. Dustin Linville went fourth quick at a 13.947 and Zach Sise would round out the top five at a 13.969.

The ATC Bolts & Fasteners Dash saw Skylar continue to cruise taking the win over Hayden Cardwell and Dustin Linville. Rick Hendrick City Chevrolet Heat 1 saw some slicing and dicing as Ross White took the win over Jarrod Carey who gained two spots and Logan Walls taking third with Daniel Dial taking the final transfer spot. Outside Groove Heat 2 would go to Kyle Courtney over Baillie Lowe, Harley Ellison and the young gun NIcholas Byrd! PPM Racing Products Heat Three was another good one with a lot of passing and action with Jordan Hedger taking the win over AJ Hicks, Deke Waters, and Joshua Chesney.

The Dirt Rich TV B-Main would also transfer four cars with guys gunning to get in the show in their last chance. Ryan Lanphierd from Michigan gained two spots to take the win over Sylvan Schuette and Cody Courtney. The final transfer spot would go to Jake Henry who moved up four spots to get in the show. Josh Vinyard and Tommy Carlton would take the two provisionals on the night. This was a great B-main with first and second side-by-side at the line.

The feature was set and the track was primed for good racing from top to bottom. Skylar Marlar jumped to the lead and began working through lapped traffic early in the event. On lap eighteen as lapped cars were battling in front of the leaders Hayden Cardwell was able to make the move and be the leader at the line over Marlar. Marlar took the lead back on the back straight away but the caution would fly giving Cardwell the lead. LInville and Sise were also in the battle for the top spot at this time. Cars were all over the track looking to take the lead. The restart came and Cardwell fired off with Marlar giving chase. Marlar continued to give that chase until his right front went away which allowed Linville to get back on lap 42 and a chance for him to take chase to Cardwell. One more chance came on a lap 45 caution as the competitors lined up single file, but Linville just couldn't get by. Hayden Cardwell would grab his first win with the series since May of 2023 while Dustin Linville took second with Skylar Marlar hanging on for third. A pair of nines would round out the top five as Zach Sise would take fourth and Josh Dietz took fifth. AJ Hicks would manage to narrowly hold on to the points lead taking sixth place with Ross White finishing seventh. Jordan Hedger, Nicholas Byrd, and Logan Walls would round out the top ten.

The AAS would like to thank Brandon Hardgrove and his whole team for a great track and facility to race at.

We'd also like to thank all the partners who help us for the 2024 season: PPM Racing Products, American Racer: "The Official Tire of the AAS," Rick Hendrick City Chevrolet, Chevrolet Performance: Vehicles, Parts, Racing, Daytona 1: "The Official Lubricant of the AAS," O'Reilly Auto Parts: "The Official Auto Parts Store of the AAS," Mahle Motorsport, Wieland: "The Official Aluminum of the AAS," Pro Fabrication: "The Official Header of the AAS," Save-A-Lot: "The Official Grocery Store of the AAS," Gasko Gaskets, BHR Fabrication, Double Nickle Race Cars, KRC Power Steering, Outside Groove, Smash-It, VP Racing Fuels: "The Official Fuel of the AAS," ATC Bolts and Fasteners, Rocky Top Family Medicine, Beckley Motor Speedway, Burgess Motorsport Consulting, ML Performance Midwest, Dirt Rich TV, Fast Fab, Hyperco, Massey Powersports, MD3, Popbit, Peeping Dragon Photography, Dirt Track Racers Recovery for Christ, Terror Race Cars, QA1, Warrior Race Cars, WV Fireworks Outlet, and XS Power Batteries.

Article Credit: Joseph Rush

Back to News

American Racer
Hendrick Cars
OReilly Auto Parts
Outside Groove
Pro Fab
Save A Lot
Smash It
VP Fuels